Nuggehalli Sri Lakshmi Narasimha swamy temple :

God and Godess :

  • Lakshmi Narasimha Swamy,
  • Venugopala swamy,
  • Soumya Kesava swamy

Location :

Nuggehalli Lakshmi Narasimha Swamy Temple,
Nuggehalli (village), Channarayapatana(taluk),
Hassan district – 573116,

Timings :

6.00am to 8pm

Temple History :

The Lakshmi Narasimha Swamy temple is located in the town of Nuggehali in the Hassan district. Lord Vishnu is the presiding deity of this temple and giving darshan as Sri Lakshmi Narasimha Swamy along with his consort Sri Mahalakshmi Devi. This is an ancient temple which was built in the year 1246. The district of Nuggehali is home to intricately carved Hoysala temples which include the Lakshminarasimha temple and the Sadasiva temple. It was built during the rule of the Hoysalas by the King Virasomeshwara. King Vishnuvardhana patronized the temples built during his era. It has three towers, the vimana which has intricately carved wall sculptures. The temple was completely built of Soapstone and an architectural greatness can be seen in this temple. Lord Narasimha is an avatar of Lord Krishna. As per Hindu scriptures, Upanishads, and Puranas, Vishnu took the form of Narasimha for destroying the demon Hiranya Kasapa. Lord Narasimha is in the form of as half lion and half man. The upper is in the form of a lion with claws. The lower is human form.

The architecture of the Temple: The art and architecture of the Sri Lakshmi Narasimha Swamy temple are another examples of the Hoysala culture and tradition. The idol of Lakshmi Narasimha temple is made of intricately carved stone. This temple was built by Bommanna Dandanayaka, a commander in the court of King Vira Someshwara during 1246 AD. One gets to see lathe turned pillars at the Lakshmi Narasimha temple and at most of the temples built during the Hoysala rule. The entire structure of the temple is, in fact, Tri-kuta, but it appears as Eka Kuta from the exteriors. What is quite interesting here is that the tower of the temple has been built in typical North Indian style. There is a very big hall with attractive sculptures. There are a number of sculpted deities on the pillars and there are close to 120 sculpted panels. You can see exclusive Hoysala style sculpture on the friezes. These include men and soldiers riding elephants and horses, processions with elephants and so on which are finely sculpted. Stories from Ramayana and Mahabharata are also beautifully depicted on the pillars.

Many of the Hoysala temples are Eka Kuta, Dvi Kuta or Tri-Kuta. Ekakuta refers to a single tower, Dvikuta is two towers and Tri-Kuta means three towers. The carvings depict Western Chalukya era and are made of greenschist or soapstone. The Hoysala kings encouraged this form of architecture. The main shrine has five projections on every side. There are three smaller roofs which have rich architecture and are decorated beautifully. One can see three different layers of paintings. At the base, there is a procession of elephants, horsemen, and foliage. The second section has stories from the Puranas and Hindu epics. The topmost frieze depicts imaginary beasts or Makaras along with swans. Since it is a Vaishnava temple, one gets to view images of Keshava, Venugopala, and Lakshminarasimha (all Vishnu forms). As usually This temple of Sri Lakshmi Narasimha Swamy at Nuggehalli makes you feel that whether we are at is Beluru or Halebeedu.

Festivals :

  • Annual Brahmotsava
  • Rathotsava
  • Car Festival
  • Siva Rathri
  • Vaikunta Ekadasi

Ticket price for rituals, darshanams & special sevas :

  • Nitya Pooja (10am to 7 pm) Everday
  • Archana

Nearest Temples Around Nuggehalli Sri Lakshmi Narasimha swamy temple :

  • Yediyur Siddalingeswara swamy temple – 48 km
  • Goravanahalli Mahalakshmi temple – 134 km
  • Nagalapura Chenna Kesasava temple – 42 km
  • Aralaguppe Kalleswara temple – 55 km
  • Siddara Betta Siddeswara swamy temple – 134 km
  • Belur Chenna Kesava temple – 92 km
  • Halebeedu Hoyasaleswara/kedareswara temple – 82 km
  • Sharavana belagola Gomateswara/Bahubali temple – 25 km
  • Hassan Hasanamba temple – 54 km
  • Haranhalli Someswara temple – 49 km
  • Mosale Nageswara/Chenna kesava temple – 63 km
  • Arisikere Iswara temple – 58 km
  • Doddagaddavalli Sri Lakshmi devi temple – 73 km
  • Madikeri Omkareswara temple – 140 km
  • Bhagamandala Bhagandeswara temple – 176 km
  • Igguthappadevara betta Igguthappa temple – 174 km
  • Talakaveri Agastheswara/Talakaveri temple – 184 km
  • Badagarakeri Maha mrityujaya temple – 173 km
  • Horanadu Annapurna Temple – 189 km
  • Kalasa Kaleswara temple – 181 km
  • Amrutapura Amrutheawara temple – 127 km
  • Dharmasthala Manjunatha temple – 169 km
  • Koravangala Bucheswara temple – 37 km
  • Kukke Subramanya Swamy temple – 147 km
  • Sri Rangapatna Sri Ranga Natha Swamy temple – 87 km
  • Melkote Cheluva Narayana temple – 57 km
  • Kikkeri Brahmeswara temple – 37 km
  • Hosaholalu Lakahmi narayana temple – 53 km
  • Govindanahalli Panchalingeswara temple – 40 km
  • Nagamangala Soumya Kesava temple – 51 km
  • Basaralu Mallikarjuna temple – 66 km
  • Karighatta Srinivasa temple – 102 km
  • Adichunchanagiri Kalabhairaveswara temple – 46 km
  • Mysore Chamundeswari temple – 117 km
  • Somanathapura Chennakesava temple – 131 km
  • Talkad Vaidyanatheswara temple – 160 km
  • Mysorepalace Sweth Varaha swamy temple – 104 km
  • Tirunakundal Narsipura Gunja Narasimha temple – 133 km
  • Nanjangud Srikanteswara/nanjunadeswara temple – 132 km
  • Kalale Lakshmi Kanta temple – 138 km

Nearest Bus Stations :

  • Tiptur – 32 km
  • Nuggehalli – 1 km
  • Channaraya patna – 18 km
  • Annechakana halli – 18 km

Nearest Railwaystations :

  • Channaraya patna – 19 km
  • Mandagere – 45 km
  • Holenarsipura – 43 km
  • Annechakana halli – 49 km
  • Sravanur – 52 km

Nearest Airports :

  • Bangalore – 160 km
  • Mangalore – 229 km

Photos of the temple :