Hosaholalu Sri Lakshmi Narayana swamy temple :

God and Godess :

  • Sri LakshmiNarayana Swamy,
  • Venugopala swamy,
  • Narasimha Swamy,
  • Vinayaka Swamy,
  • Venkateswara swamy

Location :

Hosaholalu Sri Lakshmi Narayana Swamy Temple,
Hosaholalu Village, Krishnarajpet (Taluk),
Mandya district – 571426,

Timings :

  • Morning 8am to 11.30am and Evening 5.30pm to 8pm(on weekdays)
  • Morning 8am -1pm and Evening 5.30pm – 8pm. (weekends)

Temple History :

Sri Lakshminarayana Swamy Temple is situated in the small town of Hosaholalu which is in the Krishnarajapet taluk of Mandya district. This Taluk has a number of temples that were built under the rule of the Hoysala Empire between the 11th and 14th Century and is thus referred to as the ‘Motherland of Hoysala temples’. The Lakshmi Narayana temple is a prime example of this distinctive architectural style. This is a three-celled temple and hence has three Garbhagrihas, the main one containing the idol of Sri Lakshmi Narayana Swamy and the North and South faced Garbhagrihas have the deity’s of Sri Venu Gopala Swamy and Sri Lakshmi Narasimha Swamy respectively. Due to its intricate artwork and beautiful sculptures, this temple has been compared to the famous temples at Javagal, Nuggehalli, Somananthapur and Aralukuppe.

The Lakshminarayana temple was built in 1250 A.D by King Vira Someshwara. At this point of time, Hoysala architecture was at its peak. The temple has been very well maintained and has not been damaged by the many decades it has seen. One or two of the idols have been remade in the 1950s, but the rest are original. The temple is a Trikutachala and is built on a platform that resembles a star. This platform is raised and has a pillared hall or Navaranga in the center and the three shrines around it. The main shrine containing the idol of Lakshminarayana is the only one that has a Sukhanasi and a tower and the most decorative interiors. The entire temple is built out of Soapstone and incorporates the typical Hoysala jagati which elevates the temple over the ground by a meter. The Navaranga is the first thing you’ll see when you enter the temple and has four beautiful lathe turned pillars dividing the hall into nine cells. Each pillar is beautifully carved with sculptures of young dancing girls in various graceful and elegant poses. Each cell has a unique design on the ceiling that brings out the true talent and imagination of the sculptor.

The statue of Sri Venu Gopala Swamy was built more recently. The Sri.Lakshmi Narayana idol is a magnificent piece of art and has tiny intricate detailing that makes it very attractive. Between the Lakshmi Narayana idol and the last idol of Lakshmi Narasimha, there is an idol of Parvathi with her foot on the chest of Mahishasura which has caused it to cave in. The base, like all Hoysala temples, has the six layers of decorative arts that comprise of swans, elephants, horse riders, leafy scrolls, various gods and goddesses and scenes from Hindu epics like the Ramayana and Mahabharatha. The mid section of the temple is richly decorated with sculptures of various Gods, Shiva being the most prominent having over 120 images of him in various forms, dancing Saraswathi, Brahma, Ganapathi, Yoga – Madhava, Kalinga – Mardana, dancers, musicians and many other deities. Unlike the other temples of this kind, most of the sculptures and images at the Lakshminarayana temple are intact and have been very well preserved.

Festivals :

  • Rathotsavam
  • Kalyanotsvam

Ticket price for rituals, darshanams & special sevas :

  • Archana
  • Abhisekam

Nearest Temples Around Hosaholalu Sri Lakshmi Narayana swamy temple :

  • SriRangapatna Sri Ranganatha swamy temple – 38 km
  • Melkote Cheluva Narayana swamy temple – 25 km
  • Govindana Halli Pancha Lingeswara swamy temple – 21 km
  • Nagamangala Soumya kesava swamy temple – 42 km
  • Basaralu Mallikarjuna swamy temple – 49 km
  • Karighatta Srinivasa swamy temple – 41 km
  • Adichunchanagiri Kalabhairveswara swamy temple – 67 km
  • Bangalore Iskcon temple – 154 km
  • Gavipuram Gangadhareswara swamy temple – 163 km
  • Basavanagudi Nandi temple – 165 km
  • Ulsoor Someswara swamy temple – 164 km
  • Domlur Chokkanatha swamy temple – 167 km
  • Murugesh Palya Shivoham Shiva temple 169 km
  • SS Ghati Ghati subramanya swamy temple – 175 km
  • Begur Naganatheswara swamy temple – 173 km
  • Mysore Chamundeswari temple – 69 km
  • Somanthapur Chenakesava swamy temple – 71 km
  • Talakkad Vaidyanatheswara swamy temple – 97 km
  • Mysore Palace Swethavaraha temple – 56 km
  • T.narsipure Gunja Narasimha swamy temple – 86 km
  • Nanjangud Sri Kanteswara swamy temple – 90 km
  • Magadi Ranganatha swamy temple – 117 km
  • SRS Hills Revana Siddeswara swamy temple – 118 km
  • Doddamallur Navaneetha Narasimha swamy temple – 99 km
  • Tittamaranahalli Narasimha swamy temple – 99 km
  • Yelandur Gourishwara temple – 108 km
  • Narasamangala Rameswara swamy temple – 141 km
  • Gundlupet Vijayanarayana swamy temple – 121 km
  • Male Mahadeswara Bett Malle Mahadeswara swamy temple – 184 km
  • Gopalaswamy hills Himvad Gopal Swamy temple – 140 km
  • Br Hills Billgiri Ranganatha swamy temple – 132 km
  • Belur Chennakesava swamy temple – 110 km
  • Halebeedu Hoyasaleswara/kedareswara swamy temple – 100 km
  • Shravana Belagolq Gomateswara/Bahubali temple – 27 km
  • Hassan Hasanamba temple – 72 km
  • Koravangala Bucheswara swamy temple – 70 km
  • Nuggehalli Lakshmi Narasimha swamy temple – 50 km
  • Haranhalli Someswara/Narasimha swamy temple – 82 km
  • Mosale Nageswara/chennakesava swamy temple – 63 km
  • Arisikere Iswara temple – 83 km
  • Doddagaddavalli Sri Lakshmi devi temple – 91 km
  • Yediyur Siddalingeswara swamy temple – 70 km
  • Goravanahalli Mahalakshmi temple – 160 km
  • Nagulapura Chennakesava swamy temple – 64 km
  • Settikere Yoga Madhava swamy temple – 109 km
  • Aralaguppe Kalleswara swamy temple – 95 km
  • Siddarabetta Siddeswara swamy temple – 158 km

Nearest Bus Stations :

  • Channarayapatha 34 km
  • Sravanbelgola 27 km
  • K.R Pate 3 km
  • Krishnarayanagara 37 km

Nearest Railwaystations :

  • Hosa Agrahara 21 km
  • Arjunahalli 26 km
  • Birahalli 17 km
  • Akkiheballu 13 km
  • HampaPura 31 km

Nearest Airports :

  • Bangalore 183 km
  • Mangalore 247 km

Photos of the temple :