Haranhalli Sri Lakashmi Narasimha Swamy Temple :

God and Godess :

  • Chenna Kesava Swamy
  • Venugopala Swamy
  • Lakshmi Narasimha Swamy

Location :

Sri Lakshmi Narasimha and ChennaKesava Swamy Temple,
Haranhalli (village), Arasikere (Taluk),
Hassan district – 573122,

Timings :

8.00am to 5.00pm (mon –sun)

Temple History :

The Lakshminarasimha Swamy temple at Haranhalli is an example of 13th century Hoysala architecture. Also, there is Sri Chennakesava Swamy and Sri Venugopala Swamy installed in the same temple in separate shrines. Haranhalli has located about 35 km from Hassan city of Karnataka. The temple, whose main deity is Sri Maha Vishnu. This temple was built in 1235 A.D. by the Hoysala Empire King Vira Someshwara. The temple plan is similar to that found in the temples at Hosaholalu, Nuggihalli, and Javagallu. While its decorative ornamentation is somewhat lesser in quality, this temple has seen no structural additions or modifications during later periods, giving it a more original look.

The temple plan is that of a Trikuta (three Shrined), with a strong focus on the middle shrine which has a superstructure (tower or Shikhara) and a Sukhanasi (nose or tower over the vestibule). The three shrines are connected by a common hall. The lateral shrines are connected directly to the hall while the middle shrine has a vestibule that connects the sanctum (Garbhagriha) to the hall. Since the lateral shrines do not have a tower and are directly connected to the hall projection), they do not appear like shrines at all from the outside but rather as a part of the hall. The central shrine, on the contrary, is highly visible because of its tower, and the Sukhanasi that projects prominently from the tower. The temple stands on a platform called Jagati, a feature common to many Hoysala temples. The platform, in addition to adding visual beauty, provides the devotees a path for circumambulation (Pradakshina patha) around the temple. The platform has three flights of steps, one leading to the entrance to the hall and the other two that lead only up to the platform, further enhancing the visual appearance.

The Garbha Griha’s of the three shrines contain an image of the Hindu gods Maha Vishnu, Venugopala Swamy, Chenna Keshava, and Sri Lakshmi Narasimha Swamy. The Kalasa on top of the gopuram is however missing. Since the lateral shrines have no towers, their superstructure comprises a stylish row of miniature roofs above the upper eaves. The decorative plan of the walls of the shrines and the hall is the “new kind”. In the “new kind” of decorative articulation, the first heavy eaves run below the superstructure and all around the temple with a projection of about half a meter. The second eaves run around the temple about a meter below the first. In between the two eaves are the miniature decorative towers (Aedicula) on pilasters. Below the second eaves is the wall panel of images of Hindu deities and their attendants in relief, not all of which in this temple are sharp in workmanship. Below this, at the base are the six equal width rectangular moldings (frieze). Starting from the top, the friezes depict, hamsa (birds) in the first frieze, Makara (aquatic monsters) in the second, the usual depiction of scenes from the Hindu epics are absent in the third frieze which has been left blank. This is followed by leafy scrolls in the fourth frieze. The fifth and sixth friezes exhibit high-quality workmanship in depicting horses and elephants respectively.

Finally, Sri Lakshmi Narasimha Swamy and Sri Chennakesava Swamy temple at Haranhalli shows the glorie of Hindu temples and their architectural welfare during the period of Hoyasala’s. These temples ever show the greatness of India and our great devotion towards culture and traditions. Thousands of devotees from all over the India and other countries arrives here every day and knowing about the glorie of ancient India and their greatness.

Festivals :

  • Sri Krishnashtami
  • Nara Simha Jayanthi
  • Siva Rathri
  • Vaikunta Ekadasi
  • Vasanthotsava

Ticket price for rituals, darshanams & special sevas :

  • Archana
  • Ashtottaram
  • Abhisheka

Nearest Temples Around Haranhalli Sri Lakashmi Narasimha Swamy Temple :

  • Yediyur – Siddalingeswara swamy temple
  • Goravanahalli – Mahalakshmi temple
  • Nagalapura – Chenna Kesasava swamy temple
  • Aralaguppe – Kalleswara swamy temple
  • Siddara Betta – Siddeswara swamy temple
  • Belur – Chenna Kesava swamy temple
  • Halebeedu – Hoyasaleswara/kedareswara swamy temple
  • Sharavana belagola – Gomateswara/Bahubali temple
  • Hassan – Hasanamba temple
  • Nuggehalli – Lakshmi Narasimha swamy temple
  • Haranhalli – Someswara swamy temple
  • Mosale – Nageswara/Chenna kesava swamy temple
  • Arisikere – Iswara temple
  • Doddagaddavalli – Sri Lakshmi devi temple
  • Madikeri – Omkareswara swamy temple
  • Bhagamandala – Bhagandeswara swamy temple
  • Igguthappadevara betta – Igguthappa temple
  • Talakaveri – Agastheswara/Talakaveri temple
  • Badagarakeri – Maha mrityujaya swamy temple
  • Srungeri – Saradamba temple
  • Horanadu – Annapurna Temple
  • Kalasa – Kaleswara swamy temple
  • Amrutapura – Amrutheawara swamy temple
  • Dharmasthala – Manjunatha swamy temple
  • Kukke – Subramanya Swamy temple
  • Sri Rangapatna – Sri Ranga Natha Swamy temple
  • Melkote – Cheluva Narayana swamy temple
  • Kikkeri – Brahmeswara swamy temple
  • Hosaholalu – Lakahmi narayana swamy temple
  • Govindanahalli – Panchalingeswara swamy temple
  • Nagamangala – Soumya Kesava swamy temple
  • Basaralu – Mallikarjuna swamy temple
  • Karighatta – Srinivasa swamy temple
  • Adichunchanagiri – Kalabhairaveswara swamy temple
  • Mysore – Chamundeswari temple
  • Somanathapura – Chennakesava swamy temple
  • Talkad – Vaidyanatheswara swamy temple
  • Mysorepalace – Sweth Varaha swamy temple
  • Tirunakundal Narsipura – Gunja Narasimha swamy temple
  • Nanjanagud – Srikanteswara/nanjunadeswara swamy temple
  • Kalale – Lakshmi Kanta swamy temple

Nearest Bus Stations :

  • Hassan – 35 km
  • Arisikeri – 9 km
  • Tiptur – 29 km

Nearest Railwaystations :

  • Arsikere – 9 km
  • Adihalli – 14 km
  • Habangatha – 11 km
  • Bageshpura – 13 km

Nearest Airports :

  • Bangalore – 191 km
  • Mangalore – 210 km

Photos of the temple :