Halebeedu Sri Hoyasaleswara Swamy temple :

God and Godess :

  • Sri Hoyasaleswara swamy
  • Sri Kedareswara swamy
  • Mahaganapathi
  • Shantaleswara
  • parvati devi

Location :

Halebeedu Hoyasaleswara Swamy temple,
Halebeedu, Belur(taluk),
Hassan district-573121,

Timings :

6:30 AM – 9:00 PM

Temple History :

Hoysaleswara Temple is one amongst the largest shrines that are dedicated to Lord Shiva in South India. During the 12th century, The Hoyasaleswara temple was built by the King Vishnuvardhana who belongs to the Hoysala Empire. The construction of this great shrine got completed in 1121 AD. This temple is Located at Halebeedu of Belur Taluk in Hassan district of Karnataka. It is believed that the temple derived its name from Vishnuvardhana Hoysaleswara, the presiding ruler in those times. However, the erection of the temple was started and sponsored by the affluent Shaiva citizens (mainly Ketamalla and Kesarasetti) of Halebid. At the time of construction, a tough competition held between Hoysaleswara Temple and Chennakesava Temple at Belur. Hoysaleswara Temple witnessed ransack of loot and raid by the Muslim invaders in the early 14th century. After the horrifying incident, the temple was reduced to rubble and fell into the state of sheer neglect.

Hoysaleswara Temple has two shrines, one is dedicated to Hoysaleswara and another for Shantaleswara (named after Shantala Devi, queen of King Vishnuvardhana). Standing on a raised platform, the temple is made out of Chloritic Schist (Soapstone, also known as potstone). Both the shrines are located next to each other, facing the east direction. The shrine comprises the Shiva lingam ( the phallic form of Lord Shiva), the universal symbol of Lord Shiva. Besides the other shrines, there is one shrine that is dedicated to Lord Surya Deva. Here, Surya Deva is depicted in the 7 ft tall image. The halls comprise huge images of Nandi, the attendant of Lord Shiva. Hoysaleswara Temple stands as a testimonial of the bygone era. The outstanding structure of the temple has been accredited for being the epitome of Hindu architecture.

The remarkable structure of this temple has been acclaimed as a perfect exemplar of Hindu style of architecture. Its architecture is often regarded as the ‘supreme climax of Indian architecture’. In the exteriors, many projections and recesses on the walls make the structure quite complex; in contrast to it, the interiors appear simple. The exterior walls of the temple have a splendid assortment of stone sculptures. Hoysaleswara Temple is particularly known for its wall sculptures that are imprinted right from the outset of the outer wall. Opening with an image of dancing Ganesha on the left-hand side of the south entrance, the series ends with a different image of Ganesha on the right-hand side of the north entrance. The whole collection has not less than 240 images. The most complicated of all sculptures are traceable in the beams, over two of the entryways, one on the southern entryway and other on the eastern entryway.

The interiors of the temple are quite plain except for the lathe turned pillars that dash in rows flanked by the north and south doorways. Making the forefront of the each shrine, the four pillars are the most elaborate having ‘Madanika’ sculptures in their brackets. The massive temple has four porches serving as its doorways. Generally, only one porch is left open for the entry that lies in the north. The superstructure on the shrines is known as ‘Sunakasi’, which used to be a row of ornamented miniature roofs on top of the attics of the hall, are all gone astray. Even the towers of the shrines are not there. The temple was constructed at a height to grant adequate horizontal and vertical space to illustrate large and small sculptures.

Festivals :

  • Mahashivaratri
  • Karthika Masa
  • Dasara
  • Rathotsava
  • Vinayaka Chaturthi

Ticket price for rituals, darshanams & special sevas :

  • Archana
  • Abhisheka
  • Ksheerabhisheka
  • Panchamrutabhisheka

Nearest Temples Around Halebeedu Sri Hoyasaleswara Swamy temple :

  • Javagal Sri Lakshmi Narasimha Swamy Temple – Hassan district – 13.00 km
  • Doddagaddavalli Lakshmi Devi Temple – Hassan district – 18.00 km
  • Belur Sri Chennakesava Swamy Temple – Hassan district – 23.00 km
  • Hassan Hasanamba temple – Hassan district – 31.00 km
  • Haranhalli Sri Someshwara Temple – Hassan district – 34.00 km
  • Koravangala Buchesvarara Temple – Hassan district – 40.00 km
  • Yadapura Jenukal Siddeshwara Swamy Temple – Hassan district – 43.00 km
  • Mosale Nageshwara and ChennaKesava Temple – Hassan district – 45.00 km
  • Arasikere Iswara temple – Hassan district – 47.00 km
  • Hullekere Chennakesava Temple – Hassan district – 69.00 km
  • Keragodi Rangapura Sri Ranganatha Swamy temple – Tumkur district – 79.00 km
  • shravanabelagola Sri Gomateshwara temple – Hassan district – 80.00 km
  • Nuggehalli Sadasiva Temple – Hassan district – 81.00 km
  • Nuggehalli Lakshmi Narasimha Swamy Temple – Hassan district – 82.00 km
  • Amrutapura Amruteswara Temple – Chikkamagaluru district – 83.00 km
  • Kikkeri Brahmeshwara Swamy Temple – Mandya district – 84.00 km
  • Govindanahalli Sri PanchaLingeswara Temple – Mandya district – 87.00 km
  • Hosaholalu Sri Lakshmi Narayana Swamy Temple – Mandya district – 100.00 km
  • Kalasa Kalaseswara swamy temple – Chikkamagaluru district – 111.00 km
  • Melkote Cheluvanarayana swamy temple – Mandya district – 115.00 km
  • Dharmasthala Sri Manjunatha swamy Temple – Dakshin kannad district – 117.00 km
  • Horanadu Sri Annapoorneswari temple – Chikkamagaluru district – 18.00 km
  • Srungeri Saradamba temple – Chikkamagaluru district – 128.00 km
  • Madikeri Omkareswara Temple – Kodagu district – 132.00 km
  • Srirangapatna Sri Ranganatha Swamy temple – Mandya district – 138.00 km
  • Basaralu Sri Mallikarjuna Swamy Temple – Mandya district – 138.00 km
  • Mysore Sri Sweta Varaha Swamy temple – Mysore District – 151.00 km
  • Puttur Mahathobara Mahalingeswara temple – Dakshin kannad district – 154.00 km
  • Somanathapura Sri Chennakesava Swamy Temple – Mysore District 164.00 km
  • Mysore Sri Chamundeswari Devi Temple – Mysore District – 167.00 km
  • Bhagamandala Sri Bhagandeswara Temple – Kodagu district – 169.00 km
  • Kadri Sri Manjunatha temple – Dakshin kannad district – 172.00 km
  • Talakaveri Agastheswara Temple – Kodagu district – 178.00 km
  • Nanjanagud Srikanteswara Swamy temple – Mysore District – 182.00 km
  • Kalale Sri Kalale LakshmiKanta Swamy Temple – Mysore District – 183.00 km
  • Talakkad Sri Vaidyanatheswara Swamy Temple – Mysore District – 196.00 km

Nearest Bus Stations :

  • Halebeedu – 0.10 km
  • Belur – 16.00 km
  • Hassan – 33.00 km

Nearest Railwaystations :

  • Halebeedu – 0.10 km
  • Belur – 16.00 km
  • Hassan – 33.00 km

Nearest Airports :

  • Mangalore International Airport,Mangalore – 187.00 km
  • Kempegowda International Airport, Bangalore – 222.00 km

Photos of the temple :