Amruthapura Sri Amruteswara swamy Temple :

God and Godess :

  • Amruteswara swamy
  • Sharada devi

Location :

Amrutapura Amruteswara swamy Temple,
Amruthapura (village),
Chikkamagaluru district – 577228

Timings :

6.00 am to 6.00 pm

Temple History :

Sri Amrutheswara Swamy temple is located at Amrutapura village in Tarikere.( on the way to Shivamogga )Built around the 12th century, by a general ( of Hoysala King Ballala the 2nd ) Amruteshwara Dandanayaka. The actual name of this temple is Kakutachala. It has a Garbagriha Antarala, a beautiful Mukha mandapa & Sabha mandapa, which has an amazing decorative ceiling of stones . Right around the temple walls, we can see Ramayanam, Maha Bharatham & Bhagawatha Gita, stories depicted in stones, such a wonderful carving crafts.

The temple is a built according to Hoysala architecture with a wide open mandapa (hall).The temple has an original outer wall with unique equally spaced circular carvings. The temple has one vimana (shrine and tower) and therefore is an ekakuta design, and has a closed mandapa (hall) that connects the sanctum to the large open mandapa. It is medium-sized Hoysala temple with certain Vastu features similar to the Veera Narayana Temple, Belavadi in mandapa structure and size. The open mandapa has twenty-nine bays, and the closed mandapa has nine bays with a side porch that leads to a separate shrine on the south side.

The shrine is square in shape has the original superstructure (shikhara) which is adorned with sculptures of Kirtimukhas (demon faces), miniature decorative towers (aedicule). Below the superstructure, the usually seen panel of Hindu deities is absent. The base of the wall has five moldings which according to art critic Foekema is an “older Hoysala style”. The Sukanasi, the tower on top of the vestibule that connects the sanctum to the closed mandapa (the Sukanasi appears like the nose of the superstructure), has the original Hoysala emblem of “Sala” fighting the lion.

The rows of shining lathe turned pillars that support the ceiling of the mandapa is a Hoysala-Chalukya decorative idiom. The mandapa has many deeply domed inner ceiling structures adorned with floral designs. The outer parapet wall of the open mandapa has a total of hundred and forty panel sculptures with depictions from the Hindu epics. Unlike many Hoysala temples where the panels are small and carvings in miniature, these panels are comparatively larger. The Ramayana is sculpted on the south side wall of seventy panels, with the story proceeding quite unusually, in an anti-clockwise direction. On the north side wall, all depictions are clockwise, a norm in Hoysala architectural articulation. Twenty-five panels depict the life of the Hindu god Krishna and the remaining forty-five panels depict scenes from the epic Mahabharata.

Festivals :

  • Maha Sivaratri,
  • Karthika Pournami,
  • Dasara,
  • Makara Sankranthi.

Ticket price for rituals, darshanams & special sevas :

  • Abhisheka
  • Bilva Archana
  • Kumkumarchana
  • Aksharabhyasa

Nearest Temples Around Amruthapura Sri Amruteswara swamy Temple :

  • Sringeri – Saradamba temple
  • Horanadu – Annapurna temple
  • Kalasa – Kalaswara temple
  • Nilagunda – Bhimeswara temple
  • Belur – Chennakesava temple
  • Halabeedu – Hoyasaleswara temple
  • Shravana Belagola – Gomateswara/Bhahubali temple
  • Hassan – Hasanamba temple
  • Koravangala – Bucheswara temple
  • Nuggehalli – Lakshmi Narasimha temple
  • Haranhalli – Someswara/Narasimha temple
  • Mosale – Nageswara/Chennakesava temple
  • Arisikere – Iswara temple
  • Doddagaddavalli – Sri Lakshmi devi temple
  • Dharamasthala – Sri Manjunatha temple
  • Kadri – Kadri Manjunatha temple
  • Kateel – Durga Parameswari temple
  • Kukke – Subramanya temple
  • Mangalore – Mangaladevi temple
  • Bagali – Kalleswara temple
  • Shamnur – Anjaneya temple
  • Udupi – Sri Krishna Temple
  • Puttur – Venkateswara temple
  • Kollur – Mookambika temple
  • Balligavi – Kedareswara temple
  • Bhadravathi – Lakshmi Narasimha temple
  • sirsi – Mari Kamba temple
  • Saudatti – Renuka Temple
  • Belur – Chennakesava Swamy temple
  • Hiriyur – Theru Malleswara temple
  • Ramagiri – Kari Siddeswara/Veerabhadra temple

Nearest Bus Stations :

  • Badagarakeri – 29 km
  • Tarikeri – 8 km
  • Shivmoga – 48 km

Nearest Railwaystations :

  • Tarikeri – 9 km
  • Karanahalli – 11 km
  • Shivapur – 14 km
  • Masarahalli – 24 km

Nearest Airports :

  • Bangalore
  • Mangalore

Photos of the temple :